Dennis A Gravatt


  • Time Zone

  • Organization
    Stephen F Austin State University

  • Role
    Scientist Mentor: I will mentor teams of students online

  • Research Interests (300 words)
    My research efforts are directed toward advancing our knowledge of plant ecology and physiology. Broadly defined, my research interests include the study of the impact of environmental stress on plants. Current and predicted changes in the environment underscore the importance of understanding the interaction of plants with their environment.
    Areas of Study include: The effects of environmental stress (e.g., drought, flood, pollutants etc.) on photosynthesis are the focal point of past and current work on carbon uptake by plants.
    I look for explanations for the physiological and morphological adaptations of plants to the desert habitat. Most of this research features succulents, especially members of the genus Sedum, many of which have a unique photosynthetic pathway.
    “Cloning” has been around in the plant kingdom for a long time. Invedstigate the physiology, morphology and anatomy of developing plantlets of the genus Sedum allow these vegetative propagules to survive. In addition, I am interested in the physiological ecology of all species found on shallow soils throughout the United States.
    Not all research in my lab is with succulent plants. I search for answers to questions relating to the physiological and ecological adaptations of plants to stress. Such studies include biochemical and morphological response to flooding and physiological responses to increases in atmospheric carbon dioxide concentrations.

  • Profile Question 1
    When and why did you decide to go into a science career?

  • Answer the question you selected for profile question 1 here (300 words):
    As a young person visiting National Parks and experiencing ranger guided hikes.

  • Profile Question 2
    What is a typical day like for you?

  • Answer the question you selected for profile question 2 here (300 words):
    Typical days consists of reading scholarly works, working and talking to students about how to succeed in science course and in a career. I arrive on campus at 6am and usually leave about 5pm. I spend a lot of time preparing for class and improving my lecture notes. I also work the high school on the STEM Academy that I previously mentioned.

  • Profile Question 3
    What is your favorite plant? Why?

  • Answer the question you selected for profile question 3 here (300 words):
    The genus Sedum. Lots of variation in the photosynthetic pathways utilized that matches the environment in which each species is found. Modes of asexual reproduction are fascinating.

  • Availability
    I am NOT available, please temporarily remove me from the available mentor list

  • Capacity: How many teams at a time are you comfortable working with?

Recent Posts

No recent activity.

Skills & Endorsements

  • No skills have been endorsed yet.